7 capsule manufacturers IR has assessed for emerging supplement brands
Ranked using IR’s transparency-weighted score against independently confirmed third-party certifications, published commercial transparency, and editorial disclosure discipline. Method, scoring weights, limitations, and exclusions disclosed below.
Recorded sources last checked between August 19, 2026 and September 25, 2026. 21 of 27 recorded claims have no open issue recorded. Source check due February 18, 2027.
Answer
Method — read this first
- Inclusion criteria
- FDA-registered facility · Active capsule manufacturing capability · ≥1 independently confirmed third-party certification (NSF GMP, NSF/ANSI 455-2, SQF, or USDA Organic) confirmed against the issuing body's public directory.
- Excluded
- Self-only operations (no contract manufacturing) · Active FDA warning letter or unresolved enforcement · Insufficient public documentation to verify capabilities · Manufacturers without any independently confirmed certification.
- Data sources
- NSF International public directory (info.nsf.org) · SQFI Certified Site Directory · USDA Organic Integrity Database (organic.ams.usda.gov) · vendor self-reports cross-checked against public records. FDA facility registration has no public lookup; registration is vendor-represented unless documentary confirmation is provided.
- Scoring weights
- Independent third-party certification (max 50): NSF GMP +30 · NSF/ANSI 455-2 +30 · SQF +20 · USDA Organic +15. Public commercial transparency (max 35): published MOQ +18 · published lead time +17. Editorial disclosure discipline (max 15): material connection statement +5 · ownership or backing disclosure +10.
- Commercial disclosure
- Commercial status (Basic / Enhanced) and editorial status (Source-checked / Assessment Complete) are independent axes. See how we assess.
- Refresh
- Quarterly · event-triggered on FDA enforcement action or material change in confirmed certification status.
Cited findings
- All seven hold ≥1 independently confirmed certification cross-checked against a public directory (NSF, SQFI, USDA Organic, or NSF/ANSI 455-2). Two hold two confirmed certifications and one holds three.
- Two of seven publish MOQ floors and lead times on their websites (Makers Nutrition, SMP Nutra). The five others require a quote request.
- Captek Softgel International holds NSF GMP (NSF 306) independently confirmed via the NSF public directory. Inventory Ready could not confirm an SQF certification for this site in the SQFI Certified Site Directory as of 2026-07-23, so SQF is recorded as self-reported rather than confirmed.
| # | Manufacturer | Location | MOQ | Lead time | Confirmed certs | IR score | One real limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Makers Nutrition | Commack, New York | 500 units (stock formulas) | 4 weeks (fastest published) | NSF GMP | 70 | On-site facility inspection was not conducted. Financial stability and insurance coverage have not been independently assessed. The company publishes a fastest turnaround of 4 weeks rather than a typical range, and directs custom-formula minimums to a phone call, so plan against a quote rather than these figures. |
| 2 | SMP Nutra | Largo, Florida | Varies by formula: 2,500 to 5,000 bottles per SKU (stock, per its FAQ; stock tablets from 1,000 depending on formula), 2,500 to 5,000 bottles (custom capsules and tablets) | 8 to 10 weeks (new customers), 6 to 8 weeks (reorders) | NSF/ANSI 455-2 | 70 | Lead times for fully custom manufacturing are not published. Stock products may use shared formulations across multiple brands. |
| 3 | Robinson Pharma | Santa Ana, California | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | NSF/ANSI 455-2, SQF, USDA Organic | 55 | MOQ floor and lead time are not publicly disclosed; request both directly before you plan a run. Robinson appears in USP's Dietary Supplement Verification Program list; that program verifies individual products, so the listing does not mean every product it makes carries the USP Verified mark. |
| 4 | Captek Softgel International | Cerritos, California | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | NSF GMP | 45 | Specific MOQ and lead times are not publicly disclosed for custom orders. Limited to softgels, gummies, and capsules; no tablet or powder capability. |
| 5 | Kelker Pharma | Riverside, California | Not publicly disclosed (website states "low minimums") | Not publicly disclosed | NSF/ANSI 455-2, USDA Organic | 45 | Company also operates its own consumer brand (NUTRILINQ), which may create capacity allocation considerations during high-demand periods. |
| 6 | GMP Laboratories of America | Anaheim, California | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | NSF/ANSI 455-2, USDA Organic | 45 | MOQ and lead time are not publicly disclosed. |
| 7 | Vitaquest International | West Caldwell, New Jersey | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | NSF GMP | 35 | Neither an MOQ floor nor a lead time is published today; request both directly before you plan a run. Only independently confirmed certifications are listed above. |
Per-vendor assessment notes
Each entry includes one strength, one limitation, and the evidence path.
1 · Makers Nutrition
Score 70 / 100Strength: Lowest published MOQ floor in the assessed group: 500 units for stock formulas. NSF GMP independently confirmed via the NSF public directory.
Limitation: On-site facility inspection was not conducted. Financial stability and insurance coverage have not been independently assessed. Phone number sourced from company website and may change. The published 4-week turnaround is a fastest case, not a typical range, and custom-formula minimums are quoted by phone.
Evidence: NSF GMP: info.nsf.org/Certified/gmp/listings.asp. MOQ and turnaround re-read 2026-08-19 from makersnutrition.com/private-label and /vitamin-manufacturer.
2 · SMP Nutra
Score 70 / 100Strength: NSF/ANSI 455-2 (the supplement-specific GMP standard) independently confirmed via the NSF public directory. 800+ stock products, with published minimums that vary by formula: 2,500 to 5,000 bottles per SKU for stock in its FAQ, stock tablets from 1,000 bottles depending on formula, and 2,500 to 5,000 bottles for custom capsules and tablets.
Limitation: Lead times are quoted by customer status rather than by product type: 8 to 10 weeks for new customers from label reception, 6 to 8 weeks for reorders with labels in house. Stock products may use shared formulations across multiple brand customers.
Evidence: NSF/ANSI 455-2: info.nsf.org/Certified/455GMP. Stock MOQ + lead time published on company website.
3 · Robinson Pharma
Score 55 / 100Strength: Three independently confirmed certifications: NSF/ANSI 455-2 (GMP), SQF (Certificate 52985) and USDA Organic. Company-reported capacity of 20 billion softgels and 14 billion tablets and capsules a year.
Limitation: MOQ floor and lead time are not publicly disclosed; request both before you plan a run. No on-site facility inspection conducted.
Evidence: NSF/ANSI 455-2: info.nsf.org/Certified/455GMP (Santa Ana facility). SQF: SQFI Certified Site Directory, certificate 52985. USDA Organic: INTEGRITY Database NOP ID 5561002084. All re-read 2026-09-25.
Frequently asked
Why is Makers Nutrition ranked first instead of Robinson Pharma?
IR's score weights public commercial transparency (35 of 100 points) alongside confirmed certifications (50 of 100). Makers Nutrition publishes both an MOQ floor (500 units for stock formulas) and a turnaround figure (4 weeks at fastest). Robinson Pharma publishes neither, despite a company-reported capacity of 20 billion softgels a year. MOQ and lead-time opacity costs Robinson Pharma 35 transparency points; its three confirmed certifications reach the 50-point certification cap, for a score of 55.
What does "Not publicly disclosed" mean?
It means IR could not find the data point on the manufacturer's website, in a public regulatory filing, or in a third-party industry directory. It does not mean the manufacturer refused a quote. Buyers should request MOQ and lead-time confirmation directly during initial inquiry. IR does not synthesize plausible-looking numbers when public evidence is absent.
How often is this list updated?
Quarterly review with event-triggered updates on FDA enforcement action, change in confirmed certification status, or material business change (acquisition, ownership transfer, facility closure). Last full editorial review: April 25, 2026. Last full claim re-verification: August 19, 2026, when every per-vendor certification, MOQ and lead-time claim was re-read against its primary source. Certification listings were last re-read on September 25, 2026, and scores and ranking are recomputed from the published formula whenever a scoring input changes.
Why aren't there more manufacturers on this list?
IR's directory contained 112 capsule-capable contract manufacturers at the April 2026 review (the live directory count on this page updates as the directory grows). The seven profiled here met the April 2026 inclusion criteria: active capsule capability, one or more certifications confirmed against a public registry, and FDA registration (legally required of every facility; vendor-represented, since registration has no public lookup). Qualifying additions are evaluated at the next full review. We list only what we can substantiate.
Browse the full directory
IR’s directory contains 110 capsule manufacturers. Filter by product form, certification and order size to find a fit for your launch volume.
See all 110 capsule-capable manufacturers →Canonical: inventoryready.com/guides/best-capsule-manufacturers