Method
Inventory Ready is a curated directory: a listed company has been reviewed under our published framework. This page covers the criteria, our data sources, and what a listing does and does not mean.
Last updated: October 2, 2026
The method, in 3 minutes
Same framework as below, applied to the five things a brand owner should verify before signing a supplement-manufacturing contract.
Open dedicated watch page for chapters, transcript, and per-claim sources.
Read transcript (76 cues)
Every year, supplement brands lose months
of development time and tens of thousands of dollars
because they signed with the wrong manufacturer.
Most of these problems were avoidable.
Here are five things you should verify before you sign.
First, their cGMP status.
The FDA requires every supplement manufacturer
to follow current good manufacturing practices
under 21 CFR Part 111.
Someone saying we're cGMP compliant isn't proof.
Asked to see their FDA inspection report,
which is called a Form 483.
Correction: Editor's correction (July 2026): a Form 483 lists inspectional observations issued at the close of some FDA inspections; it is not the full inspection report (that is the Establishment Inspection Report). Ask whether the facility received a Form 483 at its most recent inspection, and request the observations and the corrective-action response.
If they've never been inspected, that's worth knowing.
And if they were inspected and received observations,
ask what they corrected and how.
A manufacturer who can walk you
through their inspection history
is one who takes compliance seriously.
Secondly, how they handled identity testing.
We all know how much consumers care
about what's in their product, and they should.
Section 111.75 requires manufacturers
to verify the identity of every dietary ingredient
before it goes into their product.
This is where corners get cut most often.
Ask specifically, do you run identity testing in-house
or do you rely on the supplier certificate of analysis?
If supplier CoA alone is not sufficient
under the regulation, you want a manufacturer
that runs its own confirmatory testing
or uses an independent lab.
Third, their quality control structure.
This is key.
Part 111 requires dedicated quality control
personnel with a documented authority
to approve specifications, SOPs, and deviations.
Best practice operations keep QC organizationally independent
from production.
Ask who their QC lead is.
Ask when QC last approved
their standard operating procedures.
Ask to see a redacted Master Manufacturing Record
so you can evaluate their documentation discipline.
The quality of their paperwork tells you more
about their operation than any facility tour.
Four, third-party certifications.
cGMP is the legal floor, not the ceiling.
Look for third-party supplement GMP audits
from programs like NSF.
These certifications mean an independent auditor
has reviewed the facility
against a published supplement-specific standard.
Not every good manufacturer has one,
but if they do, ask which standard,
when the last audit was,
and whether you can see the certificate.
If they can't produce it, that tells you something.
Fifth, production transparency.
Before you sign, ask for a sample
master manufacturing record
for a product similar to yours.
The MMR defines every step of your production process.
Ingredients, quantities, equipment,
in-process checks, and final specifications.
A manufacturer who shares a redacted MMR
is showing you how they think about production.
A manufacturer who won't discuss it
is asking you to trust them without evidence.
These five checks won't guarantee a perfect partnership,
but they filter out the manufacturers
who aren't ready for scrutiny.
We publish a full verification checklist
in a searchable directory of assessed manufacturers
at inventoryready.com.
Links are in the description.
Thanks for watching.
Method
Six gates, in a full assessment.
The six gates below make up a full assessment. Listings at Assessment Complete have all six applied; Source-Checked listings, including every freight listing, get the lighter review described under the depth tiers. If you find an error, write to the editor.
Independent confirmation
Capability claims confirmed by ≥1 independent source.
What it means in practice
- FDA Data Dashboard
- NSF / SQF / UL public directories
- Industry directory listings
- Trade press 2024 to 2026
- Operator references
How recent the data is
Reviewed within 12 months. Screened against FDA recall and enforcement data.
What it means in practice
- Last-reviewed date on every profile
- FDA screening pass, dated on this page
- Warning letters reviewed for Trust Tier 4 listings
Sources we traced
Every fact has a citation. Click it.
What it means in practice
- CFR section numbers, not paraphrase
- Certificates confirmed at issuer
Inconsistencies flagged
Where a company's claims and public records disagree, we say so. Listed companies can correct facts with documentation; the editor decides framing.
What it means in practice
- Claim or Update a Listing form
- Confirmed errors corrected on the page
- Editor decides framing
What we disclose
Any paid relationship is disclosed on the profile, above the review.
What it means in practice
- Profile fee, never per-lead
- No paid placement
- Any affiliate link disclosed clearly, next to the link
What we don't know
When evidence is incomplete, we wait. Empty beats wrong.
What it means in practice
- Re-review on schedule when new data is published
- Vendors can add missing documentation through the listing form
- No editorial commentary on absence
Listing: a vendor is listed only when it meets the baseline standards described below. The six gates apply in full to listings at Assessment Complete; review depth varies by editorial status.
Method · v1.8 · Last updated October 2, 2026 · Editor: Greg Huang
Editorial scope
What Our Comparisons Represent
Our comparison pages present factual, publicly available information about service providers within the same category. They are organized by specific criteria (such as minimum order quantity range or certification status) so that buyers can evaluate options based on their own priorities.
Our assessments and comparisons represent Inventory Ready's editorial opinions based on publicly available information. They are not certifications, audits, endorsements, or guarantees. Like a rating agency's credit opinion, our assessments reflect a structured evaluation process applied to available data. They are opinions informed by evidence, not statements of fact about a manufacturer's operations.
Boundaries
What Our Comparisons Are Not
- Not rankings. Order on comparison and category pages follows the stated criteria (alphabetical, by MOQ, by certification count), not a quality judgment.
- Scores only where disclosed. A few guide pages order manufacturers by a criteria-based transparency score, and each states its method inline.
- Not recommendations. We present data and you make the decision; we recommend visiting any facility before signing a manufacturing agreement.
- Not complete. The directory has 411 listings across 9 categories (live totals; dated research pages cite their own snapshots, so counts can differ), and many qualified manufacturers are not yet listed.
- Not static. Capabilities change, certifications lapse or are earned, and facilities expand or close; listings reflect the last review.
Approach
Comparison Criteria
Each comparison page states its organizing criteria. We compare manufacturers on factual attributes where data is available:
| Criterion | What We Report | Data Source |
|---|---|---|
| Certifications | Each certification is labeled as confirmed (found in independent database), self-reported (claimed but not independently confirmed), or not independently confirmed | NSF, USP, SQF public directories; manufacturer websites |
| Minimum order quantity | Reported as stated by the manufacturer. Ranges are noted when exact figures are unavailable | Manufacturer websites, industry directories, direct inquiry |
| Lead time | Typical production lead time as stated by the manufacturer. Actual lead times may vary by product complexity and season | Manufacturer websites, direct inquiry |
| Dosage forms | Which product forms the manufacturer produces (capsules, tablets, powders, gummies, softgels, liquids, etc.) | Manufacturer websites, product catalogs |
| Location | City and state of primary manufacturing facility | Company websites, state business registries |
| Capabilities | Services offered beyond manufacturing (formulation, packaging, design, fulfillment, etc.) | Manufacturer websites, service descriptions |
Who’s listed
Inclusion Criteria
Each category is evaluated against criteria appropriate to its regulatory and professional context. Our review considers applicable compliance requirements, verifiable capabilities, and public documentation. The specific criteria vary by service type: a contract manufacturer's regulatory landscape differs from a fulfillment provider's or a testing lab's.
All categories share baseline editorial standards: no unresolved FDA enforcement actions as of our most recent completed screening pass (2026-07-09), no known fraud indicators, public documentation exists, and at least one verifiable capability claim.
Enforcement screening: scope and dates
The “no unresolved FDA enforcement” criterion is date-bound: it means no unresolved finding in our most recent completed screening pass, run 2026-07-09 against FDA's weekly-updated recall and enforcement datasets (food and drug). A pass counts as complete only once every surfaced record has a documented internal disposition, and listings do not remain active with unresolved findings.
Matching is name-based (vendor-name variations against FDA's recalling-firm field), which can miss records filed under a different legal name; FEI-number matching is a planned improvement. Warning-letter full text, inspection classifications, and import refusals are not part of this systematic pass; they are reviewed per vendor as part of the Trust Tier 4 review. FDA's datasets themselves lag events by weeks, so dates reflect FDA's data export, not real time.
Category-specific criteria: Different vendor types operate under different regulatory and professional contexts. Contract manufacturers are evaluated against cGMP compliance and FDA facility registration requirements. Testing laboratories are evaluated against ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation scope. Fulfillment providers are evaluated against food safety certifications and FDA registration for dietary supplement holding. Packaging and labeling providers are evaluated against supplement packaging experience and relevant quality certifications. The specific criteria for each category are documented in our internal evaluation frameworks.
Large companies (conglomerate threshold): Companies with total revenue exceeding $5 billion undergo the same editorial criteria as all other vendors, plus a supplement-relevance assessment. To qualify, a large company must have named, branded ingredients or services marketed specifically to dietary supplement manufacturers; an identifiable US market presence serving supplement brands; and supplement-specific trade press coverage or trade event participation. This ensures that our directory remains focused on the dietary supplement supply chain.
Criteria may evolve as our editorial approach develops. We are a small editorial team. Review depth varies by editorial status: listings at Assessment Complete have all six editorial gates applied, and Source-Checked listings receive a lighter review, described under the depth tiers later on this page.
Sources
Data Sources and Verification
All manufacturer information is sourced from publicly available records. We do not conduct on-site inspections or audits. Each manufacturer listing cites its specific sources so readers can verify our work.
Limits that apply to every listing
- We do not visit any company on site. We do not inspect or audit facilities, equipment, records or batches.
- We do not assess a company's financial stability or insurance coverage.
- Minimum order quantities and lead times come from what each company publishes. When a company does not publish them, the profile says “Not publicly disclosed” in those fields.
Each profile's “What we couldn't verify” section links here and lists anything specific to that company we could not confirm.
Our primary data sources include: company websites, third-party certification directories (NSF International, USP, SQF), industry databases, state business registries, and manufacturer-provided documentation. We also cross-reference the openFDA enforcement dataset for recall records, and search FDA's separate Warning Letters database on FDA.gov (openFDA does not publish a warning-letter endpoint). FDA facility registration status is not available through a public searchable database; when manufacturers provide registration numbers, we note them as self-reported.
When we confirm a third-party certification, we verify that the manufacturer appears in the certifying body's current public directory. This confirms the certification is active as of our review date. This does not constitute an independent assessment of the manufacturer's regulatory compliance. Certification verification and regulatory compliance are evaluated through separate processes in our assessment framework. A confirmed certification reflects the certifying body's listing status; enforcement records, warning letters, and inspection history are reviewed independently through FDA databases.
When information conflicts between sources, we note the discrepancy. When information is unavailable from public sources, we do not speculate or make assumptions.
Six-gate framework
Assessment Principles
Manufacturers are reviewed under the same six-gate editorial framework, at the depth their editorial status shows. The gates ensure consistency in how we gather, evaluate, and present information. For a full description of each gate, see our How We Assess page.
Independent confirmation
Claims backed by documentation, not marketing copy
How recent the data is
Information reviewed and dated within the last 12 months
Sources we traced
Sources cited for every key claim
Inconsistencies flagged
Where a company's claims and public records disagree, we say so
What we disclose
Material connections stated directly on affected listings
What we don't know
When we can't assess something, we say so explicitly
Independence
Editorial Independence
No manufacturer can pay for a better position on comparison pages or for a more favorable assessment. Our comparison method and assessment criteria are the same for every manufacturer, regardless of any commercial relationship. For full details on our revenue model, see How We Get Paid.
Process
How We Work
AI tools assist our research and drafting process. We use AI-assisted analysis to gather publicly available information, cross-reference data sources, and identify inconsistencies. All assessments are reviewed and finalized by Greg Huang, founder of multiple consumer brands in the dietary supplement and nutrition industry since 2009. We disclose AI usage because transparency about process is as important as transparency about data.
Certifications and other claims in manufacturer profiles are confirmed as of the date shown on each profile. Certification status can change after our review. We do not continuously monitor manufacturer credentials. Always confirm current certifications directly with any manufacturer you are evaluating.
More broadly, every element of a company profile reflects information available at the time of our review. This includes trust tier assignment, editorial evaluation, inclusion criteria review, and assessment notes. The “Last reviewed” date on each profile marks when this snapshot was taken. We do not continuously monitor listed companies. Always confirm current status directly with any company you are evaluating before making decisions.
Limits
Limitations
- We rely on publicly available information. Manufacturers may have capabilities, certifications, or issues not reflected in public records.
- We are not a regulatory body. Our assessments do not replace FDA inspection, third-party audits, or your own due diligence.
Participation
Manufacturer Participation
Manufacturers not yet in our directory can request a review for inclusion. Listed manufacturers can request corrections, provide additional documentation, or ask to be removed at any time through our Claim or Update a Listing page. Corrections supported by documentation are reviewed and incorporated. Manufacturer participation does not influence assessment outcomes.
Corrections
Correction Policy
Report an error with documentation through the Claim or Update a Listing form or by email. Confirmed errors are corrected on the page.
Editorial tiers
Editorial Status Tiers
Every vendor listing has an editorial status that reflects the depth of our review. This is separate from the commercial status (whether the manufacturer has opted into any paid features).
| Status | Meaning | What it includes |
|---|---|---|
| Source-Checked | Information reviewed against public records | All claims cross-referenced with cited sources. Certifications labeled as confirmed or self-reported. Editorial inclusion criteria checked against our published framework. |
| Assessment Complete | Full editorial assessment completed | Source-checked plus: all six editorial gates applied, assessment rationale written, FDA enforcement database cross-referenced. |
Trust model
Two-Axis Trust Model
Every vendor profile has two independent status indicators. Editorial status reflects our review depth. Commercial status reflects whether the vendor has opted into paid features. These are independent: a paid vendor does not get a better editorial assessment.
| Axis | What it measures | Values |
|---|---|---|
| Editorial | Depth and rigor of our independent review | Source-Checked, Assessment Complete |
| Commercial | Whether the vendor has a commercial relationship | Basic (free listing), Confirmed, Partner |
A vendor with “Basic” commercial status and “Assessment Complete” editorial status has no commercial relationship with us but has been fully reviewed. A vendor with “Partner” commercial status and “Source-Checked” editorial status has a disclosed commercial relationship but has only been partially reviewed. The editorial assessment is the same regardless of commercial tier.
Trust badges
Trust Tiers
Every vendor listing displays a trust badge that reflects the depth of assessment we have completed. Trust tiers are organized into three groups. Each tier adds exactly one verifiable layer of diligence beyond the tier below it.
Trust tiers reflect our assessment depth, not a quality judgment. A higher tier means we have completed more assessment steps, not that the vendor is “better.” Vendors progress through tiers as additional assessment steps are completed.
Directory Listing
Baseline inclusion in our curated directory. All listed vendors were reviewed under our published editorial framework.
IR Assessed
Deeper assessment steps: an enforcement records review, and at Assessment Complete, the full editorial assessment.
IR Vetted
The highest level of review, involving direct engagement with the vendor and ongoing monitoring.
These vetting tiers are part of our planned assessment roadmap. No vendors have reached this level yet.
Trust badges do not represent endorsements, certifications, or guarantees. They describe the assessment steps Inventory Ready has completed. Always conduct your own due diligence before entering into any business relationship.
Worked example
Sample Assessment Walkthrough
To illustrate the method, here is how the checks applied to Gemini Pharmaceuticals, a contract manufacturer in Commack, New York. Gemini has no commercial relationship with Inventory Ready. Its listing is Source-Checked, so this is the lighter review, not all six checks.
Independent confirmation
8 certifications claimed on website and marketing materials (cGMP, FDA Registered, Health Canada, TGA, NSF, ISO 17025, Non-GMO Project, Organic/QAI). We searched publicly accessible databases for each. Certifications found in independent databases are labeled confirmed; those not found are labeled self-reported. Each certification on the profile shows its verification status.
How recent the data is
All information sourced from records reviewed in March 2026. Sources include the company website, Suffolk County IDA public filings ($25M expansion), and certification databases.
Sources we traced
Each claim on the profile links to its source. The expansion figure ($25M, 75 jobs) traces to Suffolk County IDA public records.
What we disclose
All material connections are disclosed on affected listings and on our How We Get Paid page.
What we don't know
We did not conduct an on-site inspection, and lead times are not publicly disclosed. Both are stated on the profile.
Review depth varies by editorial status; the depth tiers above set out what each status includes.
For an auditable view of the data inputs that inform our published cost estimates, see IR Score V1: Cost Transparency.
Dietary supplement manufacturers must comply with 21 CFR Part 111 (Current Good Manufacturing Practice for dietary supplements). This includes requirements for personnel, facilities, equipment, production, laboratory operations, and record-keeping.
For wellness practitioners launching a private-label brand
Moving from dispensing a third-party brand to creating your own? Start with these:
See Our Method in Practice
Browse compared manufacturers and see how this framework applies to real listings.