TESTING LABS
Eurofins Scientific
Des Moines, Iowa
Lab network testing supplements for identity, potency, purity and contaminants, plus shelf-life studies.
LEAD TIME
5-10 business days (standard)
Independent analytical laboratories that verify supplement identity, potency, purity, and safety. Accredited testing for regulatory compliance, quality assurance, and stability studies including accelerated and real-time shelf-life protocols.
Showing 13 of 13 vendors
TESTING LABS
Des Moines, Iowa
Lab network testing supplements for identity, potency, purity and contaminants, plus shelf-life studies.
LEAD TIME
5-10 business days (standard)
TESTING LABS
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Not-for-profit organization testing supplements for label accuracy, contaminants and banned substances.
LEAD TIME
Not publicly disclosed
TESTING LABS
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Combines supplement lab testing with regulatory consulting and clinical trial management.
LEAD TIME
Not publicly disclosed
TESTING LABS
Canton, Massachusetts
Supplement testing lab offering DNA identity testing for botanicals plus potency and contaminant screening.
LEAD TIME
Not publicly disclosed
TESTING LABS
Garden Grove, California
Botanical and mushroom testing lab focused on identity and potency analysis using HPTLC and microscopy.
LEAD TIME
Not publicly disclosed
TESTING LABS
Champaign, Illinois
Lab testing nutraceuticals and botanicals for identity, potency, purity and allergens, plus label review.
LEAD TIME
Not publicly disclosed
TESTING LABS
Kitchener, Ontario
Lab offering identity, potency, heavy metal, microbial and stability testing for US and Canadian markets.
LEAD TIME
Not publicly disclosed
TESTING LABS
Melville, New York
Lab testing supplements, botanicals and cosmetics for identity, purity, strength and composition.
LEAD TIME
Not publicly disclosed
TESTING LABS
Round Rock, Texas
Lab specializing in microbiological testing, preservative challenge testing and contamination consulting.
LEAD TIME
Not publicly disclosed
TESTING LABS
Crete, Illinois
Lab network providing microbiology, chemistry, heavy metal and nutritional analysis for supplements.
LEAD TIME
Not publicly disclosed
TESTING LABS
Irvine, California
Supplement and cosmetic testing lab covering identity, potency, pesticides and preservative efficacy.
LEAD TIME
48 hours for standard panels
TESTING LABS
San Francisco, California
Family-owned analytical testing company offering identity, potency, contaminant and microbiological testing.
LEAD TIME
Not publicly disclosed
TESTING LABS
Not disclosed
Lab testing supplements for microbiology, identity, heavy metals, vitamins and allergens.
LEAD TIME
Not publicly disclosed
Last reviewed: March 31, 2026
See how each company connects to capabilities and certifications in the manufacturer atlas.
Independent testing is how you prove what's in your product. Stability testing is how you prove it stays that way. This page explains what testing and stability labs do, how to evaluate them, and what separates a credible lab from one that just prints numbers on paper.
Dietary supplement manufacturers must comply with 21 CFR Part 111 (Current Good Manufacturing Practice for dietary supplements). This includes requirements for personnel, facilities, equipment, production, laboratory operations, and record-keeping.
21 CFR Part 111 addresses testing at several stages of production. What each section calls for, and on how many batches, varies by stage. Read the cited section for the controlling text.
| Stage | What the Section Covers | CFR Reference |
|---|---|---|
| Incoming ingredients | Identity of each dietary-ingredient lot | 111.75(a)(1) |
| In-process | Verification that specs are met during production | 111.75(b) |
| Finished product | Identity, purity, strength, composition, contamination | 111.75(c) |
| Packaging and labeling | Correct label for correct product | 111.75(g) |
Measures: Confirms the ingredient is what it claims to be
Methods: HPTLC, HPLC, DNA barcoding (for botanicals), FTIR
Why it matters: Prevents wrong ingredients from entering your product. The most fundamental quality test.
Measures: Quantifies the amount of active ingredient per serving
Methods: HPLC, UV-Vis spectrophotometry, titration
Why it matters: Proves your label claims are accurate. Under-potency or over-potency are both compliance failures.
Measures: Detects harmful microorganisms (bacteria, yeast, mold)
Methods: Total plate count, USP methods, PCR-based detection
Why it matters: Protects consumer safety. Contamination can cause illness and triggers recalls.
Measures: Lead, mercury, cadmium, arsenic levels
Methods: ICP-MS, ICP-OES
Why it matters: Many retailers require this for product listing.
Measures: Traces of agricultural chemicals
Methods: GC-MS/MS, LC-MS/MS
Why it matters: Important for botanicals and plant-based ingredients. Required for organic certification.
Your expiration date is only as good as the data behind it. Stability testing measures how temperature, humidity, light, and time affect your product's potency, purity, and physical characteristics.
Elevated conditions (40°C/75% RH) for 3-6 months. Predicts product behavior under stress. Used for preliminary shelf-life estimates and to identify potential degradation pathways early. Results available faster but less precise than real-time data.
Normal storage conditions (25°C/60% RH) for 12-36 months. The most accurate predictor of actual shelf life. Typically run in parallel with accelerated studies.
Moderate conditions (30°C/65% RH) for 12 months. Used when accelerated data shows significant change, providing additional data between accelerated and long-term conditions. Helps refine shelf-life predictions.
Measures degradation from light exposure. Critical for light-sensitive ingredients (B vitamins, omega-3s, certain botanicals). Tests both the product and the packaging's ability to protect against light.
Disclaimer: This page is educational content, not professional advice. Testing and stability requirements vary by product, ingredients, and regulatory jurisdiction. Consult qualified professionals. See our Terms of Service for details.
Look for ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation, which validates the lab's testing methods and quality management system. FDA registration is also important. Some labs carry additional accreditations like A2LA or state-specific certifications. An unaccredited lab's results carry less weight with regulators and retailers.
In-house testing is performed by the manufacturer's own lab during production. Third-party testing is done by an independent lab with no financial relationship to the manufacturer. Both serve different purposes: in-house for production quality control, third-party for independent verification. The strongest quality programs use both.
Accelerated stability testing subjects samples to elevated temperature and humidity (typically 40°C/75% RH) for 3-6 months to predict long-term behavior. Real-time testing stores samples under normal conditions (25°C/60% RH) for 12-36 months. Accelerated testing is faster but real-time testing is more accurate. Most programs use both.
Turnaround depends on the lab, the method and whether you pay for rush service. Alkemist Labs' 2025 account packet estimates 4 business days as standard for qualitative identity analysis (microscopy and HPTLC). It estimates 10 business days for quantitative analysis such as HPLC. Stability studies take 3 to 6 months (accelerated) or 12 to 24 months (real-time). Rush testing is available from most labs at premium pricing.
Basic COA testing (identity, potency, microbial) costs $500 to $1,500 per batch. Heavy metals panels add $200 to $500. Full panels including pesticides and solvents can run $2,000 to $3,500. Stability studies are quoted per study. Pricing varies by lab and number of analytes.
Tell us about your product and testing needs. We'll help connect you with qualified laboratories.
Every listing cites its sources.